top of page

"It" is the Sh*t


I must be honest, I don't like scary movies. Really, I kind of hate them. I only see them because my girlfriend loves them so much. My main issue is that most scary movies aren't really scary. Most of them have the same formula, especially in regards to editing. They back the audience into a corner with creepy moments and with underlining scary music in an attempt to brace you for a scare or a fake scare. And, probably most annoyingly, many aren't very realistic. So, as you can imagine, I was skeptical about seeing "It".

Thankfully, I was wrong about this one. Stephen King's "It" is the best horror movie I've seen in a few years, certainly the best of the year. The characters are well developed, in a relatively short time span. Perhaps this is because all of the main characters are adolescents and there isn't much to develop outside of puberty. Nevertheless, there is a sense that the audience can connect with the characters. This is important because most movies today, scary or not, seem to neglect that connection; but the audience needs it in order to have empathy for the characters and to buy in to the film.

The film takes place in the Town of Derry, where the local kids are disappearing one by one, leaving behind bloody remains. In a place known as 'The Barrens', a group of seven kids are united by their horrifying and strange encounters with an evil clown and their determination to kill It. I like the fact that the kids in this movie are determined to kill the villain, rather than run from it like in most horror movies. Their courage to fight the creature is what makes the film tick, it's what gives the film life. The pace of the film is also very nice, nothing is rushed and it doesn't seem like they're trying to force the film to be scary.

I recommend this film to all horror fans, it's certainly a delight. I don't like the fact that it is a remake, something Hollywood seems hell bent on doing to all films made before 2000; but, the film stands alone and could be considered a classic on its own. I give it 4 out of 5 stars. "It" is the sh*t.


Subscribe to our YouTube Channels here:


Follow on IG @Steele_Media_Group or @TVSteele

Featured Posts
Recent Posts
Archive
Search By Tags
Follow Us
  • Facebook Basic Square
  • Twitter Basic Square
  • Google+ Basic Square
bottom of page